top of page

IHC Awards


The Iowa Horse Council regularly recognizes the contributions made to the equine industry by Iowa Horsemen and women.  Recognition may or may not be given on a yearly basis.  Award nominations are due: November 30th of the current year.  Awards include:

Hall of Fame, Horseman and Horsewoman of the Year
Selected for outstanding contributions for the betterment of horses.  The criteria should be strict and there may be years in which there are no eligible recipients.  The IHC should never be placed in a situation where the award is a token award for the year.  Nominations with resumes should come from the general membership.  A small committee should consider the nominees.  Nominees should display or have displayed the highest attributes of sportsmanship.  Their careers should be/have been marked with honesty and a genuine effort to improve the condition(s) of horses and/or horse people.

Meritorious Service
Awarded to outgoing officers and board members who have rendered outstanding service to the Iowa Horse Council.  May also be an award for those outside the board who have rendered extraordinary service to the Iowa Horse industry.

Council Appreciation Award
Awarded to members who have rendered outstanding service to the Iowa Horse Council.  Can also be used to recognize members who have served with great distinction on member boards or associations.  An appropriate recognition for those regulators, legislators, etc…, who are responsible for improving the conditions of horses and/or horse people.

Individual Achievement Certificate
Awarded to horsemen/women who have had significant success and represented the Iowa Horse industry in a positive manner during the year.  Recipients can be nominated or selected.

Information on how to nominate a person for the above awards is available here.  All award nominations must be received by October 31st of the current year. Awards will be presented to recipients at the Iowa Horse Council Annual Banquet in January.

bottom of page